Wigan and Hull FC ready for historic clash

Super League review part one

Wigan Warriors have named Their Club and England skipper Sean O’Loughlin in their squad for their history making clash against Hull FC at Wollongong Showground in Australia.

The match will be the first ever Super League match to be played outside of Europe, before both teams play exhibition matches next weekend against South Sydney and St George respectively in a double header at the ANZ Stadium.

Despite giving up what would have been home advantage against a team that will no doubt be contention for a top four finish with Wigan is a massive call for Wigans Head Coach Shaun Wane, however is all for the venture stating:

“I want to come to Wollongong a few more times,” he said. “I love the travelling and doing different things. “It's good for our young players to sample it in a club environment and they're relishing it. It's a great experience for them.”I don't know commercially how much it benefits us as a club but we try to make it interesting for players who come to Wigan and do things differently like playing Catalans in London.”

Also included in a strong Wigan squad is former England winger Joe Burgess who also missed last weeks opening day victory over Salford Red Devils with Gabe Hamlin and Liam Forsyth being the pair that miss out.

Hull FC have only made one change to their team that also claimed victory in their opening super League game, when they accounted for Huddersfield Giants 38 -12 at the KCOM Stadium last Thursday evening.

Prop forward Liam Watts will come in and add his explosive style to a Hull pack that was very impressive last week. He replaces teenager Brad Fash who drops out of the squad.

Wigan squad: Joe Burgess, Tony Clubb, Tom Davies, Morgan Escaré, Liam Farrell, Ben Flower, Oliver Gildart, Willie Isa, Tommy Leuluai, Liam Marshall, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Sean O'Loughlin, Sam Powell, Dan Sarginson, Ryan Sutton, Taulima Tautai, Joel Tomkins, Sam Tomkins, George Williams.

Hull FC squad: Jamie Shaul, Bureta Faraimo, Jake Connor, Josh Griffin, Fetuli Talanoa, Albert Kelly, Marc Sneyd, Scott Taylor, Danny Houghton, Liam Watts, Sika Manu, Mark Minichiello, Dean Hadley, Josh Bowden, Jordan Abdull, Mickey Paea, Masimbaashe Matongo, Danny Washbrook, Jansin Turgut.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback