Wakefield look to bounce back as they take on St Helens.

St Helens VS Wigan Warriors preview

Wakefield Trinity boss Chris Chester has made two forced changes to his matchday squad has they prepare to take on St Helens at the Mobile rocket stadium on Sunday afternoon.

With the home side suffering a surprise opening day 42-24 defeat to Super leagues new boys London Bronco’s last week, Chester will be looking for a much improved performance from his side if they are to continue to establish themselves as genuine play off contenders at the end of the season.

From the side that under preformed last week Chester has lost experienced hooker Tyler Randell who hasn’t recovered from a shoulder injury he obtained last week, while back rower James Batchelor will also miss out due to a knee injury.

However, news isn’t all bad for Chester has he welcomes back former club skipper Danny Kirmond, who after only managing to play 12 games in 2018, will be looking for an extended run in the side. Also recalled to the match day squad is experienced prop forward Craig Huby who will add some size to the Wakefield bench if selected.

The visitors who are riding high after their opening day 22-12 defeat of derby rivals and last years grand final winners Wigan Warriors, head coach Justin Holbrook has only made one unenforced change to his match day squad, with former Bradford Bulls youngster James Bentley coming in for Jack Ashworth in a like for like replacement as Ashworth has been named in Leigh Centurions squad for this weekend as part of the dual registration between the two clubs.

Despite that Holbrook has his first-choice side to choose from and is expected to name the same 17 that played against Wigan, with French international scrum half Theo Fages (pictured)continuing his run in the starting side in favour of last years dream team representative Danny Richardson.

Wakefield 19-man squad: Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, Danny Brough, Jordan Crowther, Anthony England, David Fifita, Ryan Hampshire, Justin Horo, Craig Huby, Tom Johnstone, Ben Jones-Bishop, George King, Danny Kirmond, Craig Kopczak, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Bill Tupou, Kyle Wood.

St Helens 19-man squad: Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Kevin Naiqama, Mark Percival, Regan Grace, Theo Fages, Danny Richardson, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Luke Thompson, Zeb Taia, Joseph Paulo, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Morgan Knowles, Kyle Amor, Dom Peyroux, Matty Lees, James Bentley, Lachlan Coote.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback