Still no return for Russell as Scotland squad for the Calcutta squad is named.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend (pictured) as persisted with leaving their star fly half Finn Russell out of his squad for Saturdays Calcutta Cup clash with England at Murrayfield.

Normal the sides first choice for the number ten shirt, he had left the squad prior to their opening six nations defeat to Ireland for what was described as ‘breaching team protocol’ during a drinking session.

Although Scottish defence coach Steve Tandy says Townsend is still in talks with the Racing 92 player he has no idea if Russell will feature in any of the sides Six Nations games this year.

“Throughout this period, we've been after cohesion with as many players doing as many training sessions as we can,” said Tandy. “We're looking for cohesion across these first two games.”

Russell was in good form and did play in his sides recent win over Castres however, Townsend was reluctant to give anything away when discussing the situation.

“Let's see what happens over the next few weeks. Every individual has to align himself to what's to the benefit of the team. If their actions are against that there will be consequences.
“Nothing is more important in sport than playing for your national team, even more than club level. To be with the team, to promote that team culture of togetherness, of high standards and responsibility for what you have when you're wearing that thistle.
“Every player is reminded of that every time when they come into camp. Every player works hard to be given that opportunity to play for Scotland and that will always be the case.”

Adam Hastings is expected to retain the number 10 shirt after scoring all his teams points in the 19-12 defeat as he kicked four out of five penalties for the Scots during the game.
Townsend will select from the following squad to name his side that will look at winning the Calcutta Cup at the weekend.

Forwards: Simon Berghan, Jamie Bhatti, Magnus Bradbury (all Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Craig (Gloucester), Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell (London Irish), Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Tom Gordon, Jonny Gray (both Glasgow Warriors), Nick Haining, Stuart McInally, Willem Nel, Jamie Ritchie, Rory Sutherland, Ben Toolis (all Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)

Backs: Chris Harris (Gloucester), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints), Sam Johnson, Huw Jones (both Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos, Matt Scott (both Edinburgh), Kyle Steyn, Ratu Tagive (both Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Worcester Warriors)

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback