St Helen’s travel to Warrington on the back of a winning start to the season!

Last year’s run away leaders got off to a great start last week defeating 2019 Grand Final opponents Salford Red Devils 48-8 at home to continue were they left off in 2019. Unfortunately for the Wolves their opening game ended in defeat after losing their captain Chris Hill midway through the first half for a high shot on Wigan’s Sam Powell they fell to a 16-10 defeat at Wigan.

In what is mostly an unchanged squad, Chris Hill (pictured) will be missing the first of his three-game ban meaning it could be a rare start for Great Britian tourist Gray Philbin for the Wolves who are also still without their off season marquee signing Gareth Widdop.

For the visitors, they also have their casualties from the opening round and will be without full back Lachlan Coote who was forced off during the win with a knee injury. He is likely to be replaced by teenager Jack Welsby who moved off the wing last week to score two second half tries.

This place on the wing could then go to utility back Matty Costello or England academy star Tom Nisbet who would be making his super league debut.

Better news surround’s Welsh international Morgan Knowles who returns to the squad for the first time since his try scoring appearance in the grand final. After securing his place in last years Dream team he was all on for a place in the Great Britian side but unfortunately ruled out due to surgery. The Champions are still without their captain James Roby and former Golden boot winner Tommy Makinson.

The clash will also see Tongan powerhouse Ben Murdoch Masila come up against his International coach Kristian Woolf for the first time as the Australian who coached tonga to their recent internationals wins over GB and Australia last autumn as now replaced Justin Holbrook as the head coach at St Helens.

Warrington 21-man-squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 2 Tom Lineham, 3 Anthony Gelling, 4 Toby King, 5 Josh Charnley, 6 Blake Austin, 9 Daryl Clark, 10 Mike Cooper, 11 Ben Currie, 13 Ben Murdoch-Masila, 14 Jason Clark, 15 Joe Philbin, 17 Jake Mamo, 18 Sitaleki Akauola, 19 Matt Davis, 20 Danny Walker, 21 Declan Patton, 22 Luis Johnson,23 Luther Burrell, 26 Matty Ashton, 27 Ellis Robson.

St Helens 21-man-squad: 3 Kevin Naiqama, 4 Mark Percival, 5 Regan Grace, 6 Jonny Lomax, 7 Theo Fages, 8 Alex Walmsley, 10 Luke Thompson, 11 Zeb Taia, 12 Dom Peyroux, 13 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 14 Morgan Knowles, 15 Matty Lees, 17 Jack Ashworth, 18 Joseph Paulo, 19 Aaron Smith, 20 James Bentley, 21 Matty Costello, 22 Jack Welsby, 23 Joe Batchelor, 27 Lewis Dodd, 30 Tom Nisbet.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback