Seymour confident Scotland can overcome the lose of Russel Finn.

Scotland’s Rugby Union, American born winger Tommy Seymour has backed his country to take the points in their most win Six Nations game against France in Paris this weekend despite the absence of influential fly half Finn Russell.

With Scotland currently sitting mid table with one win and one defeat from their opening games, the lose of 26 year old Russell after he failed a concussion test after being replaced during Racing 92’s defeat to Toulouse is a blow for the Scot’s however Seymour is confident his side are “fully capable of executing the game plan”
Speaking before the game, the experienced winger continued to say;

We won't be changing massively the things we'll be looking to do based on one injury, we've got a style of play we want to adhere to. Finn has been playing really well and it's a shame, but these guys are fully capable of executing the game plan.

“We've been focusing on the game and these guys have all got the experience and slot naturally into their position. We've just faced this week as we would any other and just dealt with what we've been dealt.”

Finn’s absence means head coach Gregor Townsend is expected to look to either Peter Horne or Adam Hasting as a replacement to start on Saturday, although Worcester Warriors Duncan Weir has been called up as a replacement.

The loss just compounds what has been a week to forget for the Scottish medical team, with the news that British and Irish lions full back Stuart Hogg and centre Huw Jones have both been ruled out for the remainder of the competition due to their respective injuries.

Add them to the fact Townsend is unable to select his first-choice back row with John Barclay and Hamish Watson unavailable along with replacement Sam Skinner and experienced Prop forward WP Nel.
Full squad to face France on Saturday.
Scotland squad


Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors); Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), John Hardie (Newcastle Falcons), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), D'Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).


Chris Dean (Edinburgh), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), James Johnstone (Edinburgh), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Worcester Warriors).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback