Scotland name Douglas has new Captain for Samoan game

Saints Slip up as Wigan and Castleford close the gap.

Following on from the news that Scotland earlier this week decided to send three of their World Cup Squad home, after the trio that included the Scottish Captain Danny Brough were refused entry onto their flight from Christchurch to Cairns for being too drunk. The other two players involved in the incident were Prop Forwards Sam Brooks (Featherstone Rovers) and Johnny Walker (Darlington Point Roosters).

With this in mind, Scottish boss Steve McCormick has named St Helens Prop forward Luke Douglas the captain for his sides must win game against Samoa this weekend. Barrow winger Shane Toal will make his first appearance of the competition with Catalan Dragons Lewis Tierney reverting back to the Full Back position he played in the first game against Tonga. Hull KR utility Danny Addy will start his third game in his third new position taking over from disgraced skipper Brough in the stand off role.

Despite two heavy defeats in their opening two games Scotland can still earn a quarter final game against Current World Cup holders Australia should they beat Samoa.

Samoan Coach Matt Parish has also rung the changes has his team can also take that vital third place spot to progress in to the knock out stages. Following on from their defeat to Tonga, Parrish as named Sam Tagataese as their new skipper, with Frank Pritchard demoted to the bench along with stand off Ben Roberts. Fa’amanu Brown and Penrith rookie Jarome Luia will make up a new starting half back combination, while Matthew Wright will replace Ken Maumalo on the wing. In the pack Frank Winterstien and Bunty Afoa will start in place of Pritchard and Leeson Ah Mau.

Scotland team v Samoa: L Tierney (Catalans); S Toal (Barrow), B Hellewell (London), L Stein (Penrith), M Russell (Warrington); D Addy (Hull KR), O Thomas (Bradford); L Douglas (St Helens, capt), C Phillips (Workington), B Kavanagh (Hull KR), F Mariano (Featherstone), D Ferguson (Huddersfield), J Bell (New Zealand Warriors).
Interchange: K Bentley (Toulouse), B Wilkinson (Bradford), A Bentley (Toulouse), J Anderson (Sydney Roosters).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback