Scotland make changes for Kiwi clash

Following their 50-4 thrashing at the hands of Tonga, Scotland coach Steve McCormack has made some changes to his team that will face the former World Cup Holders New Zealand in their Group B game at the weekend.

22 year old London Bronco’s fullback Alex Walker is set to make his debut in the number 1 shirt, with Lewis Tierney moving to the wing despite being Scotland’s best in their opening game. Also making their debuts will be 20 year old Bradford centre Brandan Wilkinson and young Sydney Roosters back rower Jarred Anderson. In another change Oscar Thomas will partner captain Danny Brough in the halves with Danny Addy moving to hooker.

This means Kane Bentley, Frankie Mariano and Will Oakes will all drop out of the squad.
The Kiwi’s will be doing everything in their power to ensure there is no repeat of the shock draw that happen last time this sides meet in last season’s Four Nations tournament. Despite that Kiwi coach David Kidwell makes 7 changes to the team that beat Samoa 38-8 in their opening fixture.

The experienced Dean Whare, Jason Nightingale and Peta Hiku are joined by Te Maire Martin in a new look back line, while Elijah Taylor will take the 9 shirt form Wigan Warriors Thomas Leuluai who is rested, along with Simon Mannering, Jordan Rapana and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

Kiwi centre Gerard Beale will take no further part in the tournament after suffering a double leg break in the game against Samoa.

New Zealand: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Jason Nightingale, Dean Whare, Bradley Takairangi, Peter Hiku, Te Maire Martin, Shaun Johnson, Martin Taupau, Elijah Taylor, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Kenny Bromwich, Joseph Tapine, Adam Blair (capt).
Interchanges: Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Russell Packer, Addin Fonua-Blake, Danny Levi.
Extended interchanges: Thomas Leuluai, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Simon Mannering, Jordan Rapana.
Scotland: Alex Walker, Lewis Tierney, Ben Hellewell, Lachlan Stein, Matthew Russell, Danny Brough (capt), Oscar Thomas, Luke Douglas, Danny Addy, Ben Kavanagh, Jarred Anderson, Dale Ferguson, James Bell.
Interchanges: Kane Bentley, Sam Brooks, Brandan Wilkinson, Johnny Walker.
Extended interchanges: Andrew Bentley, Callum Phillips, Shane Toal, Frankie Mariano.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback