Roby named as St Helens captain for 2018

Saint's stay clear at the top, while Wigan stun Catalans

St Helens Rugby League head coach Justin Holbrook has confirmed that England international James Roby will be this years St Helen’s Club captain ahead of the 2018 super league season.

Roby, who is one of the clubs longest serving players, recently returned from the World cup, were he helped guide England to their first final in over 20 years and will take over from another long serving saint, backrower John Wilkin.

When explaining the reason for the hand over, Holbrook said:

“I want to thank Jon Wilkin, he’s done a fantastic job over the last three years. He’s a very busy man but he always puts the club first. There’s two main reasons why I’m going to make a change. One is that Wilko will play limited game-time this year and I want our captain to be on the field for the majority – if not all – of our minutes this year. Then I think James deserves to captain his club, and if he doesn’t do it now, he may never do it. I think Robes is a perfect fit for our club and I’m really looking forward to him captaining us this year.”

Roby will lead the team out for the first time as the Official club captain in tonight’s final pre season game against Leigh Centurions at the Totally Wicked Stadium. Holbrook has named a strong side with Roby, Alex Walmsley and Ben Barba all named as they prepare for next week’s crucial Super League opener against Castleford tigers.

1. Jonny Lomax, 2. Tommy Makinson, 3, Ryan Morgan, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Adam Swift, 6. Theo Fages, 7. Matty Smith, 8. Alex Walmsley, 9. James Roby, 10. Kyle Amor, 11. Zeb Taia, 12. Jon Wilkin, 13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 15. Morgan Knowles, 16. Luke Thompson, 17. Dom Peyroux, 18. Danny Richardson, 19. Regan Grace, 20. Matty Lees, 21. Jack Ashworth, 22. Jake Spedding, 23. Ben Barba, 24. James Bentley, 30. Mathew Costello.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback