RFU name England’s full time Womens squad

England ready for New Zealand in the final

As promised the Rugby Football Union have released their finalised squad as they reintroduce full time contracts for the 2019 season. The 28 women squad includes former world cup winners Katy Daley-Mclean, Marlie Packer, Vicky Fleetwood and Sarah Hunter.

The squad also contains members of the team that were beaten World Cup finalists in 2017, while Natasha Hunt, Emily Scarratt and Jess Breach have all returned from England’s sevens program to take up the offer of a full time contract.

Also named along with the 28 full time players are an additional seven players that will make up an Elite player squad and will be expected to attain the various camps and training when possible but will not be part of the full time programme.

Speaking about the announcement England’s Women’s head coach Simon Middleton was happy with the squad chosen and looking forward to working with the players on a regular basis.

                  “I am confident that this group of players has the potential to grow into the world-class squad we will be looking to take to New Zealand in 2021,” said head coach Simon Middleton.
“The introduction of full-time contracts will take time to embed but will unquestionably help us to accelerate the development process. This is a huge opportunity and we recognise the expectation that comes with the investment. It is now down to us as a management and playing group to meet those expectations.”

The whole squad will meet up early in the new year for a three day camp based at Bisham Abbey National Sports Centre as they begin the preparations for this years Women’s Six Nations which begins in Dublin on February 1st.

 Full 28 women Squad
Forwards: Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Womens RFC), Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies), Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women), Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women), Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning), Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC), Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies), Bryony Cleall (Saracens Women), Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women), Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies), Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women), Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning), Justine Lucas (Loughborough Lightning), Cath O'Donnell (Loughborough Lightning), Marlie Packer (Saracens Women), Ellena Perry (Saracens Women), Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)

Backs: Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies), Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies), Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning), Abby Dow (Wasps FC Ladies), Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women), Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Womens RFC), Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Womens RFC), Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies), Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women), Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies), Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning), Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies), Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Womens RFC), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries), Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women), Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)
(Elite player squad agreements in bold)

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback