Olympic Stars head new year honours list

As expected after a fantastic year for British sport, a number of our country’s sporting heroes have been rewarded in the Queen’s 2017 New Year’s honours list. The most Notable included knighthoods for World Tennis No.1 Andy Murray, Athlete Mo Farah and 11 times gold medallist Paralympian Lee Pearson. Alongside them, Katherine Grainger and Jessica Ennis Hill will become Dames.

Receiving a knighthood caps off an unbelievable year for the Scottish tennis great, in which he has won his 2nd Wimbledon title, defended his Olympic crown, and finished the year as world number 1. Only weeks after becoming the first person to win the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 3 times, at 29 years of age, he is now one of the youngest to be awarded a knighthood in the modern era.

Another sporting great to be honoured is 4 times Olympic Gold medallist Mo Farah. Still only 33, Mo successfully defended his Olympic titles at 5,000m and 10,000m in Rio to add them to his world titles and become possibly Britain’s greatest ever track athlete.
After another successful Paralympics, dressage rider Lee Pearson added to his MBE, OBE and CBE to be awarded a knighthood for his exceptional services to equestrianism and disabled sport.

For the women, in 2016 Katherine Grainger became the first female Olympian to win five medals at five games. The 41-year-old Scottish born rowing star will become a Dame for her services to rowing and charity. Announcing her retirement in 2016, following an exceptional career which included winning 3 world heptathlon title and adding an Olympic sliver to the Gold she won in London 2012, Jessica Ennis-Hill will also become a Dame.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback