New Boy Cross wins World Title as Legend Taylor bows out!

New Boy Cross wins World Title as Legend Taylor bows out

1st time debutant Rob Cross took home the PDC World Championship title, defeating the 6th seed and 16 time former champion Phil Taylor 7-2 Alexandra Palace last night.

In what was to be 57 year old Taylor’s last ever match, new boy Cross dazzled the both the crowd and the veteran with hitting check outs of 167 and 153 to quickly go 2-0 up.

Taylor brought it back to 2-1 with his highest checkout of the tournament at 151, but the former Electrician Cross, who only turn professional 12 months earlier quickly regarded his 2-set advantage before slowly upping applying the pressure to make it 6-1, before Taylor took advantage of an isolated blip from Cross to take his 2nd and final set of the match.

From then on it was all Cross, who quickly took the next and final set with a cool 140 finishes to take the match and the title.
In an act of true sportsmanship, Cross gave the retiring Taylor the honor of lifting the trophy one last time, stating
“I feel great but it's Phil's last year and it's about him departing. That's why I let him lift the trophy. “It was my dream to play him 15 years ago and now I have. I was actually born in 1990 when he won his first title.”

Since lifting his first British Championship trophy 27 years ago, when the British Darts Organisation was the only major darts circuit Phil “the Power” Taylor has gone on to dominate and shape his sport in a way very few sportsmen have ever achieved.
He was one of the 16 original players to breakaway from the BDO and form the PDC, winning their title a record 11 successive times between 1995 and 2006.

Despite announcing his decision for 2017 to be his last, he has still left the spot whilst at the top, taking his 16th World Matchday title in July, before bowing out in the final of the World Championships.

Phil Taylor's major titles
World Championship(16): 1990 (BDO), 1992 (BDO), 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013
World Matchplay(16): 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017
World Grand Prix(11): 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013
Grand Slam of Darts(6) :2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014
UK Open(5): 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2013
European Championship(4): 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Players' Championship Finals(3):2009, 2011, 2012

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback