McCormark names 7 new caps in Scotland Squad

Scotland head coach Steve McCormack has finally released his squad for the upcoming World Cup in Australia, naming no less than 7 new caps in the 24 players named.

With their most capped player ever Danny Brough leading the side and current St Helens prop forward Luke Douglas named Vice Captain, McCormack has scoured the world looking for the best he can get to take on the might of Samoa, Tonga and New Zealand in group B.

With no less than seven senior players unavailable through injury or personal reasons, including the NRL quartet of St George Centre Euan Aitken, Penrith Hooker Peter Wallace and NRL Grand finalist Lachlan Coote and Kane Linnett. Joe Wardle has made himself unavailable after recently returning from a spell in the NRL and last year’s Scottish Player of the year Adam Walker was withdrawn from the train on squad following a failed drugs test.

This means there are chances New Zealand Warrior’s forward Jamie Bell and Penrith three quarter Lachlan Stein, along with former French internationals Kane and Andrew Bentley, Brendan Wilkinson and Kieran Moran who have all played Championship Rugby this season and Jarred Anderson who is yet to make his 1st team debut for Sydney Roosters.

Scotland will play New South Wales country team in a warm up match before opening their World Cup campaign against the dark horses Tonga in Cairns on October 29th.

Full Scotland Squad
Alex Walker, Ben Hellewell (both London Broncos), Andrew Bentley, Kane Bentley (both Toulouse), Danny Addy, Ben Kavanagh, Kieran Moran (all Hull KR), Brandan Wilkinson, Oscar Thomas (both Bradford), Callum Phillips (Workington), Danny Brough (c), Dale Ferguson (both Huddersfield), David Scott (Batley), Frankie Mariano (Featherstone), James Bell (New Zealand Warriors), Jarred Anderson (Sydney Roosters), Johnny Walker (Darlington Point Roosters), Lachlan Stein (Penrith Panthers), Lewis Tierney (Wigan), Luke Douglas (St Helens), Matthew Russell (Warrington), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), Sam Brooks (Featherstone), Shane Toal (Barrow).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback