Injuries hit Scotland Squad as 4 players Called Up

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has been forced to call up a number of players only a week ahead of the opening Six Nations Clash after losing several of his original squad to injuries.

Starting flanker Hamish Watson (pictured) is the highest profile to drop out after the Edinburgh star suffered a suspected fractured hand, that could see him miss most if not all the upcoming tournament.

While not dropping out completely Glasgow Warriors trio Sam Johnson (concussion) Jonny Gray and Ryan Wilson both with shoulder injuries will stay with the squad but are extremely doubtful for the opener against Italy.

It means uncapped back rowers Matt Smith and Luke Crosbie are brought into the squad immediately to provide additional cover, while the more experienced centre Alex Dunbar (31 caps) who was originally left out of the squad and lock forward Rob Harley (20 caps) both could play some part in the opening game.

Although the loss of Watson is a huge blow to Scotland as he has been one of the sides most consistent performers in recent years starting 11 out of the Scots last 12 games, boss Townsend does have options available.

Newcastle Falcons duo Gray Graham and John Hardie both have experience playing on the openside, while Watson’s Edinburgh team mate Jamie Ritchie can cover both open and blindside positions.

Revised Scotland squad:
Props: Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors); Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), D'Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors).
Hookers: Dave Cherry (Edinburgh), Jake Kerr (Leicester Tigers), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors).
Locks: Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh).
Back row: Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh), Gary Graham (Newcastle), John Hardie (Newcastle), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Matt Smith (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).
Back three: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors).
Centres: Chris Dean (Edinburgh), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors).
Fly-halves: Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Racing 92).
Scrum-halves: George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne – captain), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback