Huddersfield Giants vs Warrington Wolves team news

Huddersfield Giants coach Rick Stone will be looking to kick start their season after falling to an opening day defeat at the hands of Hull FC last Week. The Australian has named a competitive squad, for their game against Warrington Wolves at The John Smith’s Stadium, this Thursday 8 February, kick-off 7.45pm.

Golden boot nominee is Jermaine McGillvary back in contention after returning to full training this week and he replaces Michael Lawrence who hasn’t recovered from a knock obtained in last weeks game.

Shannon Wakeman is still some way of fitness, while Alex Mellor should have his cast off in the next week or two so he’s looking at round 5 or 6 before his season starts. There as also been a setback in recovery for aussie back rower Tom Symonds, where he was aiming to be fit for to nights game he will now possible need at least another two weeks.

With these injuries in mind Stone has made two changes to last week’s 19 man squad, with prop forward Tyler Dickinson and former Bradford Bulls player Colton Roche both coming in to replace Lawrence and Adam Walne.

For the Visitors, Warrington Wolves head coach Steve Price has named a changed 19 man squad, however is hopefully he will have his Skipper Chris Hill for the full game this week after he left the game at half time in last weeks defeat to 2017 champions Leeds as his wife had gone into Labour.

In his pre match press conference to announce the squad, the wolves boss also stated that Prop Forwards Dom Crosby and Sitalekia Akauola weren’t far off their return from injury and could be back over the coming weeks.

Huddersfield Squad
Danny Brough, Paul Clough, Tyler Dickinson, Dale Ferguson, Lee Gaskell, Ryan Hinchcliffe, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Kruise Leeming, Jake Mamo, Jermaine McGillvary, Darnell McIntosh, Aaron Murphy, Adam O’Brien, Jordan Rankin, Oliver Roberts, Colton Roche, Daniel Smith, Ukuma Ta’ai, Jordan Turner.

Warrington Squad
Ryan Atkins, Kevin Brown, Mitch Brown, Daryl Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Bryson Goodwin, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, George King, Tom Lineham, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Declan Patton, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Tyrone Roberts, Matty Russell, Morgan Smith, Ben Westwood.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback