Golden Boot Winner

Golden Boot Winner

Golden Boot Winner announced.


Australian and Melbourne Storm halfback, Cooper Cronk, 33, has been awarded the 2016 Golden Boot. After beating off prestigious competition in the form of his club and international captain Cameron Smith, Queensland and Australian team mate Darius Boyd and the New Zealand wrecking ball Jason Taumalolo. Having first been awarded to Wally Lewis in 1984, the Golden Boot is in recognition of performance at both club and representative levels, with International having the greater emphasis.

Cooper Cronk was chosen by a panel of past winners including Darren Lockyer and Gary Schofield alongside various selections of the world’s media, in recognition of his performances in 2016. In a season which saw him play his 300th NRL game, he was chosen as the joint winner of the Daily M award, which is the NRL version of player of the year, for helping his team Melbourne Storm reach the NRL Grand Final. He also was a key member in helping Queensland win the State of Origin Series 2-1 and was outstanding in the recent Four Nations being named player of the tournament, thus helping Australia to dominate the series and regain the number one spot in the world rankings.

Cronk now joins the impressive list of talent that has received the Golden Boot, since its commencement in 1984, which includes Melbourne team mates, Billy Slater and Cameron Smith, and fellow Queensland and Australian international Johnathan Thurston x 3, Greg Inglis and current Australian Coach Mal Meninga. British Interest in the award has come from previous winners, Ellery Hanley (1988), Garry Schofield (1990), Andrew Farrell (2004) and Kevin Sinfield (2012).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback