England Women rotate the squad for the game against Scotland.

England ready for New Zealand in the final

England head coach Simon Middleton has named a completely new front row as his Women’s side look to continue their defence of last year’s Six Nations Grand Slam.

Vickii Cornborough, Lark Davies and Sarah Bern all start as Middleton rotates his squad for the game against Scotland.

Other changes include Emily Scott coming in at full back, Amber Reed coming into the centres with means Zoe Harrison will switch to Fly half in place of the vastly experienced Katy Daley-Mclean.

On the bench scrum half Claudia Macdonald comes into the picture after missing last weeks 19-13 win over France. The inclusion of MacDonald who up until five years ago played Netball means there is no place in the matchday 23 for Harlequins Leanne Riley.

“We're really looking forward to the game in Glasgow on the back of a strong opening weekend for us,” Middleton said.

“Our strength in depth means we've had players patiently waiting in the wings for an opportunity and we've freshened up the squad and starting XV.”

Now that they are favourites to retain the Grand Slam following their gripping victory Middleton has explained the reasoning behind his new front row as he feels that’s were the French dominated his side.

“Scotland have a lot of quality with a number of their players playing in the Tyrrells Premier 15s. We know they'll present a strong, physical test and it's vital we match them in every department,” the England coach said.


15. Emily Scott (Harlequins Women, 35 caps)
14. Abby Dow (Wasps FC Ladies, 10 caps)
13. Emily Scarratt (VC, Loughborough Lightning, 86 caps)
12. Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women, 54 caps)
11. Jess Breach (Harlequins Women, 22 caps)
10. Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 21 caps)
9. Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury, 51 caps)
1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Women, 50 caps)
2. Lark Davies (Loughborough Lightning, 23 caps)
3. Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women, 32 caps)
4. Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 37 caps)
5. Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women, 17 caps)
6. Sarah Beckett (Harlequins Women, 14 caps)
7. Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women, 73 caps)
8 Sarah Hunter (C, Loughborough Lightning, 120 caps)


16. Amy Cokayne (Harlequins Women, 47 caps)
17. Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women, 18 caps)
18. Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Women, 14 caps)
19. Harriet Millar-Mills (Wasps FC Ladies, 52 caps)
20. Amelia Harper (Loughborough Lightning, 1 cap)
21. Claudia MacDonald (Wasps FC Ladies, 8 caps)
22. Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning, 111 caps)
23. Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women, 29 caps)

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback