England ready to battle for World Cup final spot

England so close to World Cup Glory

England are hoping to go into tomorrows Rugby League World Cup semi final against Tonga with an unchanged side after Coach Wayne Bennett named the same 17 man squad this week.
The only change to the team that defeated Papua New Guinea 36-6 in last Sunday’s quarter final is the inclusion of Fit again Jonny Lomax and Scott Taylor onto the reserve list with George Williams and Stefan Ratchford missing out.

With stand off Kevin Brown required to pass a series of concussion tests following an knock to the head which saw him withdrawn from last weeks match at half time by medical staff, should he be classed as unfit, it is believed Gareth Widdop would return to the stand off spot he started the tournament in and Jonny Lomax would make a return to the fullback shirt he last wore against Australia in the opening game.

There is also speculation that star forward Sam Burgess may have picked up an Ankle injury during training this week, if so Ben Currie could start with Scott Taylor taking his place on the bench.

For the opponents Tonga, they have had a fantastic tournament so far, with their highlight being the defeat of New Zealand in the group stages, before overcoming Lebanon 24-22 to reach the semi final.

Coach Kristen Wolf has made two changes to his team with prop forwards Sio Siau Taukeiaho and Peni Terepo returning after missing the win over Lebanon.

England: G Widdop (St George Illawarra); J McGillvary (Huddersfield), K Watkins (Leeds), J Bateman (Wigan), R Hall (Leeds); K Brown (Warrington), L Gale (Castleford); C Hill (Warrington), J Hodgson (Canberra), J Graham (St George Illawarra), S Burgess (South Sydney), E Whitehead (Canberra), S O'Loughlin (Wigan, capt).
Interchange: A Walmsley (St Helens), T Burgess (South Sydney), B Currie (Warrington), J Roby (St Helens).

Tonga: W Hopoate (Canterbury Bulldogs); D Tupou (Sydney Roosters), M Jennings (Parramatta), K Hurrell (Gold Coast), D Fusitua (NZ Warriors); T Lolohea (Wests Tigers), M Hingano (NZ Warriors); A Fifita (Cronulla), S Havili (St George Illawarra 5/8), S Siua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters), M Ma'u (Parramatta), S Manu (Hull, capt), J Taumalolo (North Queensland).
Interchange: S Katoa (Penrith), P Terepo (Parramatta), T Pangai jnr (Brisbane), B Murdoch-Masila (Salford).

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback