England ready for New Zealand in the final!

England ready for New Zealand in the final

On Saturday night England women will defend their Women’s Rugby World cup title against current World number 1’s New Zealand in the Final played at the Kingspan Stadium, Ireland.

Coming off the back of a hard-fought semi -final game against the French who are currently ranked 3rd in the World, the English Women will be looking to retain the title they won in 2014.

With Regular full back Danielle Waterman ruled out due to concussion regulations and the short time between the semi-final and tonight’s game, Head coach Simon Middleton has moved the versatile Emily Scarrett into the full back spot, with 20 year old Meg Jones moving into the Centre’s after impressing from the bench in the Semi-Final.

Jone’s spot on the bench will be taken by Emily Scott, who was a member of Britain’s 2016 Olympic 7’s team along with being part of England’s 2017 Grand slam team, before injury had originally ruled her out of the World Cup squad.

Their opponent’s The Black Ferns, eased through to the final with a comfortable 45-12 victory over the USA in their Semi-final and along with England have been the standout team in the competition, even being promoted to World Number one due to the nature of their performances during the tournament so far. After missing out on a final place in the 2014 World cup final, they are hell bent on correcting that “blip” in their record and adding the 2017 tittle to those from 2002, 2006 and 2010!

England team to face New Zealand:
Emily Scarratt (Lichfield), Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries), Megan Jones (Bristol), Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies) , Kay Wilson (Richmond) , Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) , Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Sarah Hunter (Bristol), Marlie Packer (Bristol), Alex Matthews (Richmond), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) , Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) , Sarah Bern (Bristol) , Amy Cokayne (Lichfield), Vickii Cornbrough (Harlequins Ladies)
Replacements: Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries), Justine Lucas (Lichfield), Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol), La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Amber Reed (Bristol), Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol)

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback