England name strong squads ahead of Sevens World Cup

England RFU have named their Male and female squads for the upcoming Seven’s world cup which will be held in San Francisco over the 20-22nd July.
The 12 strong men’s squad will be looking to go one better than in 2013 when they were runners up in Moscow and with 6 members of the Team Gb side that took Olympic Sliver in Rio.

Tom Mitchell will again Captain the side that has been seeded fourth behind South Africa, New Zealand and Fiji with their first game on Saturday the 21st July against the Winner of Samoa vs Uganda. Also named is England’s all time leading Sevens try scorer Dan Norton.

The Women’s side also hosts a bucket load of experience and will be captained by Abbie Brown as they enter their competition as eighth seeds and will take on Ninth seeds Ireland in their first match on July 20th.

Five of the Women’s squad named by head coach James Bailey, Vicky Fleetwood, Amy Wilson, Alex Matthews, Emily Scarratt and Natasha Hunt where members of the England side that played in last year’s Women’s Rugby World cup final.

As the tournament is played to a different format than the World Sevens programme and follows a straight Knock Out format there are no second chances and the teams that win every match will be crown World Champions.

Full squads:

England men: Phil Burgess, Alex Davis, Richard de Carpentier, Will Edwards, Mike Ellery, Harry Glover, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell (c), Will Muir, Dan Norton, James Rodwell.

England women: Holly Aitchison, Claire Allan, Jess Breach, Abbie Brown (c), Heather Fisher, Vicky Fleetwood, Deborah Fleming, Natasha Hunt, Alex Matthews, Sarah McKenna, Emily Scarratt, Amy Wilson Hardy.

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback