England avoid world Champions in World cup draw

World Rugby to Investigate World Cup qualifiying match!

The draw for the 2019 Rugby Union world cup was held this week with none of the home nation teams being grouped with current holders New Zealand as they were drawn in group B along with South Africa and Italy

This year’s Five nations champions England being drawn in a tough group C, that contains France and Argentina in addition to the top north or south American qualifier which could be either Canada or the USA and the runner up from the Oceanic qualifiers either Fiji, Samoa or Tonga.

While England’s fellow home nations teams Scotland and Ireland are drawn in Group A along with the hosts country Japan and finally Wales will face Australia and Georgia in group D.

After failing to qualify from the pool stages in the last world cup, after suffering defeats at the hands of Australia and Wales, current England coach Eddie Jones will be ensuring nothing will be taking for granted ahead of the competition which will be held from the 20th September to 2nd November 2019.

The remaining eight slots will be decided over via a qualification process held over the next 18 months.

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner (Europe 2 v Oceania 3)

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, repechage winner

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2

Similar Posts:

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback